2 Works for You wins OAB best station image award

2 Works for You

KJRH 2NEWS Works for You received first and second place for Best Station Image from the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters in their annual awards announced last week. 

The top honor was for a 2NEWS Today series of promotional spots that aired late last year.

2 Works for You also received 2nd place in the same category for a 2 Works for You Weather campaign.  2News Today is the #2 morning newscast in Tulsa (November 2012 Nielsen ratings) and the 2 Works for You meteorologists have been awarded Certified Most Accurate in Tulsa for the seventh year in a row (WeatheRate).

“We have a commitment to quality journalism that we take very seriously,” said  Donna Wilson, vice president & general manager.  “We were proud to not only be noticed for our news coverage but also for our marketing efforts.”

The campaign focused on the urgency and the viewer benefit that our morning news delivers to our community every weekday morning.  It conveys the commitment 2NEWS Today makes each and every morning to give our viewers the most relevant, impactful news, information and certified most accurate weather forecast they need to start their day. 

In addition to top honors in the Best Station Image category, 2NEWS also received 2nd place in the General News category for a newscast focused on the “ORU Plane Crash” and placed third in the Feature Series category for a news package on “Horse Slaughter”. 2 Works for You also received third place in the News Topicals category for “Dirty Grocery Bags”.

The competition was open to stations from all across the state.  The Outstanding Achievement Awards Banquet will take place on Friday, April 19 at the Hard Rock Hotel in Tulsa. 

This is not the first time 2NEWS has received top honors from the Oklahoma Associated Press of Broadcasters. KJRH has been awarded first place for Best Weather Coverage, Spot News and Investigative Reporting. 2NEWS Anchor Russ McCaskey has won Best News Anchor in the state. Second place awards have also been received in Best Weather Coverage, Spot News, Investigative Reporting, Best Special Program and Solo Video Journalist.